BOOK REVIEW: Origin (Lux #4) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: Origin (Lux #4)

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Genre: Urban Fantasy, Young Adult

Published: August 2013, Entangled Teen

Rating: 4/5 stars ★★★★

armentrout jennifer 4 originBLURB:

Daemon will do anything to get Katy back.

After the successful but disastrous raid on Mount Weather, he’s facing the impossible. Katy is gone. Taken. Everything becomes about finding her. Taking out anyone who stands in his way? Done. Burning down the whole world to save her? Gladly. Exposing his alien race to the world? With pleasure.

All Katy can do is survive.

Surrounded by enemies, the only way she can come out of this is to adapt. After all, there are sides of Daedalus that don’t seem entirely crazy, but the group’s goals are frightening and the truths they speak even more disturbing. Who are the real bad guys? Daedalus? Mankind? Or the Luxen?

Together, they can face anything.

But the most dangerous foe has been there all along, and when the truths are exposed and the lies come crumbling down, which side will Daemon and Katy be standing on?

And will they even be together?

✽✽✽

MY REVIEW:

4 of 5 stars to Origin by Jennifer L. Armentrout

★★★★

“Did you think you could stop me? I’ll burn the world down to save her.”

What in the world just happened?

Warning: Spoilers ahead!

I love this book so much! It’s very action packed, intense and exciting. The origins creeped me out really. They’re like those kids in horror movies, you know what I mean? And Archer! OMFG I love him a lot. His mysterious, brooding character is on point. I was praying so hard that he be kept alive and thankfully he was. I just hope he continues to be a good guy unlike Blake. And speaking of the bastard, I cannot be any happier that he was finally out of the picture. Yay!

What I can’t accept is the amount of death and tragedy in this book. Do people really have to die for the sake of drama? I don’t think so but if the author feels the need to do so what can I do?

Honestly, this book has me feeling very conflicted. The whole time Daemon and Kat and Archer were escaping Area 51, I was a nervous wreck. I was flying through the pages eager to know the outcome and boy was I relieved! All of them escaped! That was a happy moment. Meeting the family, having a normal moment and staying in a safe place but all of that was taken just as quickly. So I was back to feeling fidgety again. A lot of loved ones died, betrayals happened and another problem brewing up fast.

Tell me were you able to stay calm reading this? I feel like I was in a roller coaster. There were a lot going on but it served its purpose. I was really enthralled with the book.

I have a few problems with the writing style. Sometimes the descriptions were confusing and sounded a little off but the plot made up for it.


Leave a Reply

