SERIES REVIEW: Lux by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Series Title: Lux

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Number of Books: 5

Status: Finished

Series Rating: 3/5 stars ★★★


BOOK 1: OBSIDIAN

armentrout jennifer 1 obsidianBLURB:

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

VIEW FULL REVIEW OF OBSIDIAN HERE


BOOK 2: ONYX

armentrout jennifer 2 onyxBLURB:

Being connected to Daemon Black sucks…

Thanks to his alien mojo, Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems.

Something worse than the Arum has come to town…

The Department of Defense are here. If they ever find out what Daemon can do and that we’re linked, I’m a goner. So is he. And there’s this new boy in school who’s got a secret of his own. He knows what’s happened to me and he can help, but to do so, I have to lie to Daemon and stay away from him. Like that’s possible. Against all common sense, I’m falling for Daemon. Hard.

But then everything changes…

I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?

No one is who they seem. And not everyone will survive the lies…

 

VIEW FULL REVIEW OF ONYX HERE

 


BOOK 3: OPAL

armentrout jennifer 3 opalBLURB:

After everything, I’m no longer the same Katy. I’m different… And I’m not sure what that will mean in the end. When each step we take in discovering the truth puts us in the path of the secret organization responsible for torturing and testing hybrids, the more I realize there is no end to what I’m capable of. The death of someone close still lingers, help comes from the most unlikely source, and friends will become the deadliest of enemies, but we won’t turn back. Even if the outcome will shatter our worlds forever.

Together we’re stronger… and they know it.

VIEW FULL REVIEW OF OPAL HERE

 


BOOK 4: ORIGIN

armentrout jennifer 4 originBLURB:

After everything, I’m no longer the same Katy. I’m different… And I’m not sure what that will mean in the end. When each step we take in discovering the truth puts us in the path of the secret organization responsible for torturing and testing hybrids, the more I realize there is no end to what I’m capable of. The death of someone close still lingers, help comes from the most unlikely source, and friends will become the deadliest of enemies, but we won’t turn back. Even if the outcome will shatter our worlds forever.

Together we’re stronger… and they know it.

 

VIEW FULL REVIEW OF ORIGIN HERE

 


BOOK 5: OPPOSITION

armentrout jennifer 5 oppositionBLURB:

Katy knows the world changed the night the Luxen came.

She can’t believe Daemon welcomed his race or stood by as his kind threatened to obliterate every last human and hybrid on Earth. But the lines between good and bad have blurred, and love has become an emotion that could destroy her—could destroy them all.

Daemon will do anything to save those he loves, even if it means betrayal.

They must team with an unlikely enemy if there is any chance of surviving the invasion. But when it quickly becomes impossible to tell friend from foe, and the world is crumbling around them, they may lose everything— even what they cherish most—to ensure the survival of their friends…and mankind.

War has come to Earth. And no matter the outcome, the future will never be the same for those left standing.

VIEW FULL REVIEW OF OPPOSITION HERE

 


✽✽✽

MY REVIEW:

3 of 5 stars to Lux Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout

★★★★

Jennifer Armentrout made a colorful new world in her series, Lux, perfect for teens and fantasy lovers alike. The story is set in present day America where the characters are not only simple high school students but are actually, aliens with blinding eyes and flawless beauty. Amidst all this extraterrestrials is a human girl whose powerful presence will change the lives of people forever.

What’s cool about this series is the reference to alien powers and awesomeness. If you’re not a fan of high school romance then you don’t have to worry because this series also tells of the amazing world of the mysterious celestial beings. The story has been compared to Twilight many times as it somehow has the same base story line: new girl in a weird town who falls in love with the most popular, yet elusive, guy. Again, if you’re not a fan of Twilight, you don’t have to worry as well because there is no love triangle here, not so much sappy romance but Katy (the heroine) has unfortunately, some ‘Bella-isms’ that may annoy you but you can disregard that easily when you think of the amazing plot and the exciting adventures.

Although I find the story a little predictable, the supporting characters made it worth it. In fact, I loved the minor characters more than I did Katy and Daemon. Katy for me, was quite stupid and impulsive. She made rash decisions that result in more problems for the group. Daemon was really a jerk in the beginning. He made me want to not proceed with the book but alas, my curiosity won. He managed to redeem himself in the end so all was well.

My favorite character is Archer who isn’t introduced in the story until the 4th book. But even though that is the case, he still managed to capture my heart. He is just so smart, so capable and so strong that Daemon appeared meek compared to him (yes, this is the bias speaking). I’m sad he’s only part of the last two books and that he has little parts. (Sigh). I also adore the young extraordinaire, Luc. That boy is a genius. His sarcasm is hot and I want his brain (lol).

Anyway, this series is really promising. It’s got romance, drama, angst, action, adventure, wonderful friendships and so much more elements you’ll love. It needs some polishing here and there, some new and original ideas to make it outstanding but despite those lacking qualities, I still love it. The cover arts, on the other hand, need some serious improvement. It looks tacky. I believe it will get higher readership if it didn’t feature a boy and a girl in the cover. A nice looking, artistic graphic cover would’ve worked better, in my opinion.


Leave a Reply

