BOOK REVIEW: Loving Mr. Daniels by Brittainy C. Cherry

Title: Loving Mr. Daniels

Author: Brittainy C. Cherry

Genre: New Adult

Published: May 2014

Rating: 3/5 stars ★★★

cherry brittainy loving mr danielsBLURB:

To Whom it May Concern,

It was easy to call us forbidden and harder to call us soulmates. Yet I believed we were both. Forbidden soulmates.

When I arrived to Edgewood, Wisconsin I didn’t plan to find him. I didn’t plan to stumble into Joe’s bar and have Daniel’s music stir up my emotions. I had no clue that his voice would make my hurts forget their own sorrow. I had no idea that my happiness would remember its own bliss.

When I started senior year at my new school, I wasn’t prepared to call him Mr. Daniels, but sometimes life happens at the wrong time for all the right reasons.

Our love story wasn’t only about the physical connection.

It was about family. It was about loss. It was about being alive. It was silly. It was painful. It was mourning. It was laughter.

It was ours.

And for those reasons alone, I would never apologize for loving Mr. Daniels.

-Ashlyn Jennings

✽✽✽

MY REVIEW:

3 of 5 stars to Loving Mr. Daniels by Brittainy C. Cherry

★★★

“Because pretending to be happy is almost like being happy. Until you remember that you’re only pretending. Then you’re sad. Really sad. Because wearing a mask every day of your life is the hardest thing to do. And after a while, you get a little scared because the mask becomes you.”

Sometimes, when authors want to be different and decide to write poignant stories, they tend to go overboard. Loving Mr. Daniels is just that, a book filled with sad and depressing situations written amateurishly. I think the tragic moments would have worked a lot better if the writing was superb but unfortunately, it was lacking. Part of me blames the fact that I read this after Sweet Gum Tree—which was written impeccably—but I know it was really the author’s shortcoming.

I liked the Shakespearean references though. It is always a plus when you read romance that can also impart useful knowledge. Though that’s become almost a constant to contemporaries, an addition  of classic literature to this kind of book is always a plus for me. Still, I feel like I’m being unfair for saying such negative things about the book without many reasons. I couldn’t really remember much about the book and what I felt while reading it. It wasn’t groundbreaking. It was just simply a book to read. I’m giving it 3 stars anyway.


Leave a Reply

