BOOK REVIEW: More Than Forever by Jay McLean

Title: More Than Forever (More Than #4)

Author: Jay McLean

Genre: New Adult

Published: July 2014, CreateSpace

Rating: 5/5 stars ★★★★★

mclean jay more than forever

“Because it’s eternal, the rise and fall of the sun. It’s forever. Just like us”

❁❁❁

BLURB:

-LUCY-
There is a love so fierce it cannot be measured.
A heart so strong it will never slow.
There is a promise so sure it can never lie.
He promised me that love forever.
Even when it wasn’t enough.

-CAMERON-
Forever. Everlasting. Eternal.
There is no measure of time.
No sounds of the ticking of a clock.
Just the rising and falling of the sun.
And our own sense of forever.

But our forever isn’t always.

MY REVIEW:

5 of 5 stars to More Than Forever by Jay McLean

★★★★★

First of all, this novel is 100% sappy romance so if you’re a cynic, you need to steer clear of this one.
After reading this, I can say that I’m not okay. This book messed me up. I think when I’m not laughing out loud at the silly moments, I’m bawling my eyes out from the emotional storm this book gave me. If a book is too angst-y and dramatic, I find myself annoyed but not with More Than Forever. It tugged at my heartstrings. It made me believe in the power of love. It’s just so touching, magical and wonderful. I love it. I finished it in one sitting. Cam and Lucy’s story is one I won’t ever forget. Honestly, this book is perfect. It was funny when the author wanted it to be and it was emotional when she needed it to be.
The book didn’t really dwell much on anything else besides the love the two main characters share. It was the kind of love that blossomed when they were still young and continued to grow as they stayed together. It’s for that reason that when problems arose, it was so much more heartbreaking. Among their friends, they were the couple who everyone thought was really meant for each other. So when they started to grow apart, even their friends stopped believing in love. If they didn’t make it, then no one else could. I’m not really fond of love-centric novels much. I prefer my books a mixture of stimulating elements such as action and mystery but I found myself immersed in this book. It was very captivating.
I read the first book in the series (More Than This) and I say that More Than Forever is so much better. The story was well written, the development of romance was deliberate and the characters were written realistically. Although I had some disagreements with how the author introduced some conflicts, I could still let it slide. It wasn’t such a big factor anyway. Ultimately, I find this book amazing so I’m giving it a 5 star rating.

Leave a Reply

