BOOK REVIEW: Bittersweet by Sarah Ockler

Title: Bittersweet

Author: Sarah Ockler

Series: N/A

Genre: Young Adult

Published: January 3rd 2012 by Simon Pulse

Rating: 3/5 stars ★★★

ockler sarah bittersweet

“Would ‘sorry’ have made any difference? Does it ever? It’s just a word. One word against a thousand actions.”

❁❁❁

BLURB:

Once upon a time, Hudson knew exactly what her future looked like. Then a betrayal changed her life, and knocked her dreams to the ground. Now she’s a girl who doesn’t believe in second chances… a girl who stays under the radar by baking cupcakes at her mom’s diner and obsessing over what might have been.

So when things start looking up and she has another shot at her dreams, Hudson is equal parts hopeful and terrified. Of course, this is also the moment a cute, sweet guy walks into her life… and starts serving up some seriously mixed signals. She’s got a lot on her plate, and for a girl who’s been burned before, risking it all is easier said than done.

It’s time for Hudson to ask herself what she really wants, and how much she’s willing to sacrifice to get it. Because in a place where opportunities are fleeting, she knows this chance may very well be her last…

MY REVIEW:

3 of 5 stars to Bittersweet by Sarah Ockler

★★★

ockler sarah bittersweet

Cover Art: 3/5 stars – I like it! It’s very simple and neat.

Actual Review:

Oh boy this book is like a girl on her period: a combination of crazy and mood swings! I was so close to DNF-ing this. Already to 70% of the book, I found myself extremely annoyed with the heroine.

Hudson Avery is probably the most self-absorbed heroine I’ve ever read. She thinks the world revolves around her. I like that she’s very ambitious but I hate that she is too condescending towards what she considers ‘lesser’ jobs than figure skating like waitress-ing and baking cupcakes. She thinks so highly of herself and feels like she’s too good for their ‘boring old town’. *eye roll* Also, she is selfish. She would choose a date night with a boy over her family! She feels like babysitting her brother is a job. And she keeps on complaining about being overworked by her mom. Yeah, I get that she’s only seventeen but hell, family always comes first to me and helping them is never a chore. I guess that’s where we are different. Lastly, she can’t be bothered to listen to her best friend after dumping all her problems to the poor girl like her life problems are so much more important than anything else. And the number one best friend mistake trope is present, of course: Hudson ditching her friend to go ‘help’ a boy write his essay.

At that point, I was so ready to give up on the book. I thought, “Have I had enough of this holier-than-thou attitude or should I give her a chance?” In the end, I chose to finish it only because finally, I reached the part of the book where the world decided to give Hudson a double b*tch-slap on the face and woke her up from her “I am the queen of everything” fantasies. Boy, did I devour those chapters! Dani, her poor neglected best friend, gave her a dose of reality by calling her out on her horrible attitude. She dished out harsh, but nevertheless true, words that were like music to my ears, figuratively speaking. People started deserting her and she finally felt how it was to be truly alone. No family, no friends. Hah! She totally deserved that.

After much contemplation, I decided to give the book a 3 star rating because really, as much as I hate Hudson’s stinking personalty, Ockler undoubtedly made a moving and refreshing YA novel. She wrote amazing and realistic character growth. The heroine is such a huge turn off but Ockler redeemed her somehow. She might have taken long to realize her mistakes and what really matters but hey, at least she did it. I just don’t like how the writer made the other characters worship her like she’s the next best thing since hot showers. Too much praise and hero-worship for me. On a side note, til the last pages, Hudson still thinks the world revolves around her but we can’t do anything about that, can we? That’s how the writer wants it.


Leave a Reply

