BOOK REVIEW: The Paper Swan by Leylah Attar

Title: The Paper Swan

Author: Leylah Attar

Series: N/A

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Published: August 4th 2015

Rating: 4/5 stars ★★★★

attar leylah the paper swan

“I want to remember this,” he said, pulling me into his arms. “If I die tonight, I want to die remembering what it was like to hold the whole world in my hands.”

❁❁❁

SYNOPSIS:

They say it takes 21 days to form a habit.
They lie.
For 21 days she held on.
But on Day 22, she would have given anything for the sweet slumber of death.
Because on Day 22, she realizes that her only way out means certain death for one of the two men she loves.

A haunting tale of passion, loss, and redemption, The Paper Swan is a darkly intense yet heartwarming love story, textured with grit, intrigue, and suspense. Please note: This is NOT a love triangle.

A full-length, standalone novel, intended for mature audiences due to violence, sex and language. Subject matter may be disturbing for some readers.

MY REVIEW:

4 of 5 stars to The Paper Swan by Leylah Attar

★★★★

ATTAR leylah the paper swan photo sum

Cover Art: 3/5 stars. Not really artsy enough for me.

Book Review:

I had a hard time rating this book. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. I love it but there are also some things I am miffed about. This book has that nostalgic feels of a beautiful childhood turned bitter. It’s got drama, angst, a little fluff and really great steam.

You’ll love the characters but also hate them at some point. You might roll your eyes to the absurdity of the situation and you may even find some scenes overly dramatic. But let me tell you, if you want a book that will consume you, make you feel things without your consent, then this is the one for you.

The story spans several years. There are time jumps and alternating point of views. If you’re not a fan of either, you’d want to skip this but to be honest, maybe you can disregard that dislike just for this one. It is truly an epic read that you won’t want to miss out. I love the author’s writing. I don’t like first person POVs so the fact that this is told in the 3rd person just makes it so perfect. Although you have to keep in mind that we have different tastes so what works for me might not be for you. I know some reviewers who isn’t as taken with this book.

I won’t tell much about the story. The blurb is there for that. But just to clear things up, this book has none of my pet peeves namely cheating, love triangle and sexual abuse. Maybe because I have been in a reading slump for so long that reading this made more impact than normal. But even so, I can’t deny the fact that this is the type of book which story you won’t forget after a long time.


Leave a Reply

