BOOK REVIEW: Chill Factor by Sandra Brown

Title: Chill Factor

Author: Sandra Brown

Series: N/A

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Published: August 1st 2006 by Pocket Books

Rating: 4/5 stars ★★★★

 

brown sandra chill factor

“A double-minded man is unsure in all his ways.”

 

SYNOPSIS:

Five women are missing from the sleepy mountain town of Cleary, North Carolina, and a blue ribbon has been left near where each woman was last seen. Lilly Martin has returned to Cleary to close the sale of her cabin. But when her car skids and strikes a stranger, Ben Tierney, as he emerges from the woods, they’ve no choice but to wait out a brutal blizzard in the cabin. And as the hours of their confinement mount, Lilly wonders if the greater threat to her safety isn’t the storm, but the stranger beside her….

MY REVIEW:

Cover Art: 4/5 stars. It does not look dated even if it was published in 2006. And I love that it does not look tacky unlike most book covers nowadays (especially NA ones).

Actual Review:

4 of 5 stars to Chill Factor by Sandra Brown

★★★★

I went into this book without much expectation despite the high ratings. I wanted my experience unspoiled and not influenced by others’ judgements. I also didn’t want to compare the author’s work to that of Linda Howard’s, to which I am a fan of. I’m glad I did.

It turns out, I enjoyed this book a lot more without my usual reservations when venturing to a new author. I wasn’t impressed with the romance as I had been with Howard’s but what worked for me was the cohesiveness of the entire story and the characters, including the minor ones.

I realized as I finished reading that the minor characters’ stories affected me as much as the main ones did. To be honest, it felt like every character was given equal opportunity for their story to develop, a fact which I greatly appreciate. The experience wouldn’t be as awesome if the minor characters weren’t properly developed. This is a first for me. When reading, I usually hate it when the author spends so much time going into supporting characters’ POV but Brown made hers so interesting, it didn’t bother me a bit.

**SPOILERS** I felt so much for Scott and Merilee. They had a real love, despite them believing it only mere lust. I can feel that Merilee cared for Scott and it was hard for her to let him go. It was sad that she left and their story remained hanging. I know Scott loved her too, only that he was late in realizing it and couldn’t go to pursue her right away because of his condition. In my mind, I’d like to believe they had a happy ending too, that they found each other again and let their love grow despite the society’s censorship of such union.

With Lilly and Ben, I didn’t quite feel the explosive chemistry until the last chapter. Even then, I only felt it because they were in a life and death situation and I saw how Ben cared for Lilly so much that he would risk his own life. Ben was remarkable on his own. At first, he was a very contradicting character but once you get to know his story, you’d just want to give him a hug for all his sufferings and regrets and just tell him, “You are going to be okay now.”

Being that the story revolved around mystery, I had guessed who the killer was early on. It’s the typical mystery trope writers like to use.

To conclude, I’d say this is my first Sandra Brown book and it wouldn’t be my last.


Leave a Reply

