BOOK REVIEW: Lucas by Jay McLean

Title: Lucas

Author: Jay McLean

Series: Preston Brothers

Genre: New Adult

Published: November 1st 2016

Rating: 4/5 stars ★★★★

mclean-jay-lucas

“I think, ultimately, that’s what true love is, you know? To want to be someone’s hero when they’re faced with villains. To want to be to be the one that saves them. To be their Wonderwall.”

SYNOPSIS:

In a sprint, every millisecond counts.
When you’re waiting for love, those milliseconds can feel like eons.

High school senior Lucas Preston has it all: star of the track team, a scholarship waiting for him, an apartment to himself and a revolving door of girlfriends. He also has an older sister, five younger brothers and a father who relies on him to make sure those brothers don’t kill each other.
His saving grace? Lois “Laney” Sanders, a girl he started to fall in like with when he was just eleven.

A girl who became his best friend, his confidant, his courage.

It took only sixteen clicks and eight seconds for Lucas to realize that his like for Laney had turned into love.
Eight life-changing seconds.
It’s also the exact length of time it took to lose her.

MY REVIEW:

4 of 5 stars to Lucas by Jay McLean

★★★★

What an intense reading experience. The first half of this book had me shedding tears non-stop. I am not exaggerating. There wasn’t a time when my eyes were dry. Be it a happy or sad moment, I cry. Jay Mclean’s writing is that touching.

Just like my favorite book from her (More Than Forever), “Lucas” had me believing in the power of love all over again. But more than that, it reminded me that while love is beautiful, it isn’t always hearts and flowers. Love can be messy, tragic and difficult. The important thing, however, is that love should always be right.

Lucas and Laney loved so deep that even when they got lost along the way, they found each other again. Theirs is the love that classic tales are made of. They met when they were just kids, immediately felt an attraction that years later would blossom into something so much more. It wasn’t an easy journey to their ‘forever’ though. They made mistakes, regretted some but ultimately, they learned.

Lucas and Laney weren’t perfect. They had flaws that made their characters realistic and even relatable. They were sometimes frustrating for acting foolish but in the end, they learned their lessons.

I didn’t like Lucas in the beginning. He was the quintessential high school kid who’s main goal is to score girls. While he suck as a boyfriend, he was a great family man. He cared and loved for his siblings genuinely, I had to give him that. But as he realized his love for Laney, he changed. He was a very dedicated and patient partner. He was attentive to all of Laney’s needs and he always tried to understand her and most importantly, he put her feelings first before his own or any others. I emphasized the last bit because I held a grudge on him for hurting Laney that way. This was the conflict that started everything. It was just a rollercoaster of emotions from then on. I wouldn’t have had it any other way.

Laney is someone I aspire to be. Kind, caring, thoughtful, genuine. Everyone loves her. My only qualm about her character is her choice to stay silent about her destructive relationship with Cooper.

And since we’re already on the topic of Cooper, call me twisted or something but I genuinely feel strong sympathy for the guy. He was a broken man. He needed someone like Laney to help save him. I say “like Laney” because the person that could save him isn’t Laney. It had to be someone else because Laney is in love with another person and she could easily give up Cooper (which she did by the way). I pity the guy. He had an ugly childhood and still lived an ugly adult life. He may have hurt Laney emotionally and physically but he was still there when she was at her lowest. He brought her back to life and made her feel loved. I hope that we haven’t heard the last of him. I wish we could read about his recovery and redemption. I believe he is not a bad person. He was set the wrong examples by his dysfunctional family. I want Cooper to have his happy ending too. Hear me Miss Jay!

I would have given this book five stars if the author didn’t make Cooper the bad guy. I think his character was sacrificed for a more gritty ending. I honestly think it would be better if Cooper stayed as the good steady guy and is genuinely in competition with Lucas because then, Laney would really have to choose between the two of them and therefore prove that no matter what, Lucas would always be the one. Because Cooper was “evil,” Laney had to drop him. She wouldn’t have realized that it’s Lucas she truly loves if not for the personality switch. I just think that it’s too convenient.

In any case, this book will remain a favorite and is undeniably an unforgettable one.

**Cover Art: 3/5 stars. No creativity at all, but it can pass.


Leave a Reply

