BOOK REVIEW: Sincerely, Carter by Whitney G.

Title: Sincerely, Carter

Author: Whitney G.

Series: Sincerely, Carter #1 (other book is only a companion novel)

Genre: New Adult

Published: April 30th 2015

Rating: 4/5 stars ★★★★

whitney-g-sincerely-carter

“Some people come into your life for a reason, some a season, and some a lifetime.”

SYNOPSIS:

Just friends.
We’re just friends.
No, really. She’s just my best friend…

Arizona Turner has been my best friend since fourth grade, even when we “hated” each other. We’ve been there for one another through first kisses, first “times,” and we’ve been each other’s constant when good relationships turned bad. (We even went to colleges that were minutes away from each other…)

Throughout the years, and despite what anyone says, we’ve never crossed the line.

Never thought about it.
Never wanted to.

Until one night changed everything.
At least, it should’ve …

Just friends.
We’re just friends.
I’m only saying this until I figure out if she’s still “just” my best friend…

MY REVIEW:

4 of 5 stars to Sincerely, Carter by Whitney G.

★★★★

This is another typical New Adult novel but undeniably enjoyable in its own right. Of course, cliched situations cannot be avoided in this genre but surprisingly, I didn’t find it annoying.

The banters between best friends-turned-lovers Carter and Arizona were what ultimately made this such a fun read. The way they were so close to each other that they can talk about their sex lives and even joke about it felt so natural. I found Carter (and his situation) hilarious especially when he had to deal with girlfriends.

Some chapters that happened in the past threw me off a little because there wasn’t an indication in the chapter title that it wasn’t in the present time so sometimes I got confused but it really wasn’t much of a big deal. However, I also enjoyed these chapters that dealt with their childhood and how their friendship developed. I thought it was so genuine and I even related to it because I did write hate you letters to classmates aka enemies I had back then.

Anyway, I’ve always liked friends to lovers stories because there is already a guaranteed natural chemistry between the two. And because the author didn’t need to make so much effort to start building chemistry from scratch, the romantic development feels natural and not forced, unlike how some authors use contrived situations to make their characters meet for the first time and then feel that insta-lust. Oh how I hate that ‘insta’ thing.

Four stars for this refreshingly funny New Adult friends-to-lovers story.

*** Cover Art: 3/5 stars. At least it doesn’t look tacky in spite of the half naked guy.***

Leave a Reply

