BOOK REVIEW: If You Were Mine by Melanie Harlow

Title: If You Were Mine

Author: Melanie Harlow

Series: N/A * (See note below)

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Published: February 28th 2017

Rating: 3/5 stars ★★★

“I’ve made a thousand mistakes in my life, and I might make a thousand more, but walking away from you won’t be one of them. I don’t deserve you, but if you were mine, I’d spend every last damn day of my life trying.”

SYNOPSIS:

Theo MacLeod wasn’t supposed to be the one.

Tall, dark and handsome suits me just fine, but the cocky grin, know-it-all attitude, and mammoth ego? No thanks. I only hired him so I wouldn’t have to sit at the singles table again. It was just pretend.

He wasn’t supposed to kiss me.

My heart wasn’t supposed to pound.

We weren’t supposed to spend the night together—the hottest night of my life.

One night turns into a snowed-in weekend away, and even the blizzard of the century can’t cool the fire between us. I can’t get enough—of his smile, of his body, of the way he makes me feel.

We’re nothing alike. He’s a daredevil, and I’m a nervous Nellie. He’s a drifter, and I want to put down roots. He’s an opportunist with a checkered past, and I’m a Girl Scout volunteer.

But none of it matters when I’m in his arms.

I know he’s made mistakes. I know his wounds are deep, and he doesn’t trust easily. I know he doesn’t believe he could ever be enough to make me happy, but he could.

All he has to do is stay.

MY REVIEW:

3 of 5 stars to If You Were Mine by Melanie Harlow

★★★

*Note: This book is formally a stand-alone novel but the heroine’s best friends have their own books too and in fact, hers is the last (third). I don’t know why the author didn’t make an official series name for the three books.

A simple but very relatable story about two people plagued with fears of their own and learning to take a leap for and because of each other.

I find myself relating to a lot of Claire and Theo’s issues.

Claire is afraid of venturing out of her comfort zone which basically means she fears failure–something that I battle on a day to day basis. I guess her situation left an impact on me and made me think about how I love to doubt myself and now I live a very unsatisfactory life yet I do nothing about it. While what her character represents is ideal, I do not find myself inspired or motivated to follow path, maybe because I think the pacing was kind of fast, and the writing wasn’t profound enough for me.

Meanwhile, Theo is afraid of any kind of commitment because he also doubts his abilities and doesn’t want to disappoint people. He craves for the easy–something I am also guilty of doing. Theo and Claire both have shortcomings but together they conquered these fears and that’s what makes this story worthwhile, I guess. Was it an unforgettable story? Not really. Was it original? Also a no. But it was an enjoyable story nonetheless.

P.S.

As I have mentioned in my note above, this book can be considered a ‘third’ installment to an unnamed series by Harlow. I only found out when the heroine Claire started talking about her bestfriends and I thought how good their back stories was that compelled me to recheck if I just missed the series title. I went to Harlow’s goodreads profile and saw two books with similar themes to If You Were Mine’s cover art. I clicked one and found that the book was indeed about one of Claire’s friend, Margot, the one character who really intrigued me from the beginning of Claire’s story. Margot’s story was the second one and I have also read it. I will be posting about it soon so stay tuned!


Leave a Reply

