BOOK REVIEW: The Foxe & The Hound by R. S. Grey

Title: The Foxe & The Hound

Author: R. S. Grey

Series: N/A

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Published: June 1st 2017

Rating: 4/5 stars ★★★★

SYNOPSIS:

When your life is a hot mess at twenty, it’s cute. At twenty-seven…well, not so much.

It’s just that my lofty dreams—making it as a real estate agent, paying rent on time, showering daily—have stayed just that: dreams. Oh, and love? I’ve decided love might be a little ambitious for me at the moment. Instead, I’ve settled for the two guys who will never leave me: Ben & Jerry.

That is, until Dr. Adam Foxe takes up residence as the town’s new vet.

With his strong jaw, easy confidence, and form-fitting scrubs, it’s not long before every housewife in Hamilton is dragging neglected tomcats in for weekly checkups.

Like everyone else, I’m intrigued. Even after I spoil my chance at a good first impression, he still offers me a proposition I can’t refuse: play his girlfriend at a family function and he’ll hire me as his real estate agent. Welcome to love in the 21st century.

It’s too bad I underestimated Adam’s irresistible charm and the undeniable attraction that burns between us. The day he pins me to the wall and silences me with a kiss, the line between reality and ruse begins to blur. Every teasing touch brings me to my knees. Every kiss promises more.

It looks like my hot mess of a life is about to get a little hotter.

MY REVIEW:

4 of 5 stars to The Foxe & The Hound by R. S. Grey

★★★★

Give me any R. S. Grey novel and I could just devour it in a day. I can never get enough of her sexy and funny contemporaries. And… I dare ask it. Is she quite possibly the Sophie Kinsella of this generation? I’d put my money on it. (Hey, no harm intended in this comment! I love both authors.)

Grey has a knack for writing winsome heroines with realistic quirks to their character. Madeleine is just another example. She’s supermodel gorgeous yet she has no idea. Her life is far from glamorous as her supermodel look alikes do, however. She’s 27, on the verge of losing her job and draining her savings, and basically has no life outside of work. Her life is a mess. She makes a blunder of herself often especially in front of her new vet, Adam. I like how she’s so real. She gets clumsy, feels awkward in front of her crush, gossips about her officemates and sucks up to her boss and landlord. But I love how she’s honest and doesn’t tolerate drama. She says and does what she wants even if it’s always 50-50 that she’ll regret it later.

Adam, on the other hand, is the opposite of Madeleine. He’s hot one minute, cold the next, gives confusing signals and contradicts himself a lot. However, I understand where he is coming from. Fresh from a messy break up with his long time fiancee, Adam still has lingering trust issues.

I loved this couple that depicted a rather simple and realistic romance. Theirs wasn’t the kind that would be deemed, “epic,” nor remarkable. It wasn’t the passionate, knock-off-your-feet kind of love. It was just a simple love story of two very different people meeting and then falling in love.

***cover art: 3/5 stars. Decent. But I’ve seen it too many times on R. S. Grey novels.***


 

Leave a Reply

