Series Title: Flight & Glory Series

Author: Rebecca Yarros

Status: On-going

Number of Books: 2 (series consists of stand-alone novels; +2 more books coming, presumably)

Genre: New Adult

Series Rating: 4/5 stars ★★★★


Rating: 3/5 stars ★★★

yarros rebecca full measures

“The fire you have within you is impossible to kill. The first breath you take when you’re free of all this, it will come roaring back. That’s what is so impossibly beautiful about you.”


Three knocks can change everything…

“She knew. That’s why Mom hadn’t opened the door. She knew he was dead.”

Twenty years as an army brat and Ember Howard knew, too. The soldiers at the door meant her dad was never coming home. What she didn’t know was how she would find the strength to singlehandedly care for her crumbling family when her mom falls apart.

Then Josh Walker enters her life. Hockey star, her new next-door neighbor, and not to mention the most delicious hands that insist on saving her over and over again. He has a way of erasing the pain with a single look, a single touch. As much as she wants to turn off her feelings and endure the heartache on her own, she can’t deny their intense attraction.

Until Josh’s secret shatters their world. And Ember must decide if he’s worth the risk that comes with loving a man who could strip her bare.


Rating: 4/5 stars ★★★★

yaros rebecca eyes turned skyward

“For once you have tasted flight, you will forever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward, for there you have been and there you will long to return…”


Since her sister’s death, twenty-year-old Paisley Donovan, who shares her sister’s heart condition, is treated like delicate glass by her parents. But nothing will stop her from completing her Bucket List—even if it kills her. And it almost does, until Jagger Bateman pulls her from the ocean and breathes more than air into her lungs—he sets her soul on fire.

Jagger is enrolled in the country’s toughest flight school. He’s wickedly hot, reckless, and perfect for a girl looking to live life to the fullest. Except that Paisley is the commanding general’s daughter, and her boyfriend is Jagger’s biggest rival. Now Paisley must decide just how much to risk for a guy who makes her heart pound a little too hard.

They’re flying through dangerous territory—and one wrong move could make them crash and burn…



4 of 5 stars to Flight & Glory Series by Rebecca Yarros


This is such a beautiful series. It’s quite emotional and deals with serious situations like death and stuff but it’s very uplifting. It’s only on the first two books in the series but I hope the author continues to make the next books as beautiful as the first two. From the author’s blog posts, we can expect two more books and one is coming this summer. Yay!

The series has a general theme that deals with military life. The author is a military mom herself, and I think that’s the main factor why she is able to make her stories believable and amazing. As I have said earlier, the books are emotional and sometimes heartbreaking but it only makes the ending much more beautiful and rewarding.

The first book, Full Measures, is about Ember and Josh. This book, for me, is a lot more serious and angsty compared to next book in the series. At first, it was hard for me to read it because I am usually skittish about deception but it all worked out anyway. Meanwhile, the second book, Eyes Turned Skyward, was such an amazing experience for me. I loved and enjoyed this story more. Paisley and Jagger are very cute together. There are a lot more romantic scenes here than the first one and although it deals with mild cheating of some sort, I still loved it. Just so you know, I absolutely abhor books with cheating themes in it but you don’t have to worry because this one is clear of it.

To end this ‘review’, I just have to say that the series’ cover arts are both beautiful! I’m usually not a fan of male-female book covers but this one was done tastefully. It’s dramatic and sweet. I just love everything about this series.