Title: Whatever Life Throws at You

Author: Julie Cross

Series: N/A

Genre: Young Adult

Published: October 7th 2014 by Entangled: Teen

Rating: 4/5 stars ★★★★

cross julie whatever life throws at you

“I genuinely believe good things happen to good people.”

❁❁❁

BLURB:

Life loves a good curveball…

Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas’s life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major leagues as the new pitching coach for the Kansas City Royals. Now she’s living in Missouri (too cold), attending an all-girls school (no boys), and navigating the strange world of professional sports. But Annie has dreams of her own—most of which involve placing first at every track meet…and one starring the Royals’ super-hot rookie pitcher.

But nineteen-year-old Jason Brody is completely, utterly, and totally off-limits. Besides, her dad would kill them both several times over. Not to mention Brody has something of a past, and his fan club is filled with C-cupped models, not smart-mouthed high school “brats” who can run the pants off every player on the team. Annie has enough on her plate without taking their friendship to the next level. The last thing she should be doing is falling in love.

But baseball isn’t just a game. It’s life. And sometimes, it can break your heart…

MY REVIEW:

4/5 stars Whatever Life Throws at You by Julie Cross

★★★★

First things first, the book cover is totally misleading. If you expect a cheesy-angsty adult romance, you won’t get it. This book is so much more. Yes it has sweet romance between the leads, Jason and Annie, but it also shows great family relationships despite it being broken and dysfunctional.

It was a really nice read. It maybe cliched as how sports romance go but that’s something you can totally disregard because of the other awesome elements the book has. Towards the last 30% of the book, things got VERY emotional! I have to say I shed sad and happy tears. The ending is so perfect. I won’t forget the feeling of that single happily-ever-after-tear falling slowly from my right eye while I read the last few sentences. (Thinking back to the moment, the tear may probably be due to my persistent colds. lol) This book makes me want to be a better person and it also makes me want to be closer to my family. /happy sigh/I know this doesn’t really look like a proper review but this is how I best describe my feelings about the book. In fact, I’ve noticed my past reviews (maybe all) aren’t actually ‘reviews’ but more like opinions, feelings and/or feedbacks. But that’s how I like it, so I shall leave it at that.

Anyway, take a chance and pick this book up. It’s not ultimately a romance-centric book. A great part of the book is spent building family relationships and it’s told beautifully.