Title: The Unwanted Wife

Author: Natasha Anders

Series: Unwanted #1

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Published: September 26th 2012

Rating: 4/5 stars ★★★★

“Chemistry was a terrible thing, sometimes it simply sparked between the wrong people”

SYNOPSIS:

All Alessandro de Lucci wants from his wife is a son but after a year and a half of unhappiness and disillusionment, all Theresa de Lucci wants from her ice cold husband is a divorce. Unfortunate timing, since Theresa is about to discover that she’s finally pregnant and Alessandro is about to discover that he isn’t willing to lose Theresa.

MY REVIEW:

4 of 5 stars to The Unwanted Wife by Natasha Anders

★★★★

This book has always intrigued me. I see most goodreaders raving about it so I knew it was not a wise decision to read it in the middle of a busy week but I did anyway. As a result, I lost hours of sleep reading this way past midnight because it was so riveting, I just couldn’t stop. I do not regret it.

The Unwanted Wife is what classically old-fashioned romance is all about. It felt like reading a 90s’ to early 2000’s novel which I absolutely love. Novels like these are so rare nowadays with the proliferation of the New Adult genre and the insta-love it was infamous for, so I’m really happy to stumble upon one.

Tessa and Sandro’s love felt so deep in a way that only earlier-published novels could perfectly capture. The intensity of the events in the story felt appropriate and not overdone (unlike how I feel when reading over-dramatic NA novels). Simply put, it had the right levels of angst, drama, romance and steam.

However, I do think the Italian in it was cheesy. I thought when Sandro speaks and gestures Italian, he seems less manly but it’s just a matter of personal preference. But when I’m not reminded of his roots, it was okay. Call me anti-feminist but I love reading about misguided and jerky heroes falling for resilient yet big-hearted heroines.

***cover art: 2/5 stars. The cover doesn’t give justice to the intensity of this novel.***